19.—Lieutenant-Governors, Legislatures and Ministries of Provinces, 1867-1923—concluded.

LEGISLATURES.

Legislature.	Number of	Date of	Date of
	Sessions.	First Opening.	Dissolution.
1st	3 5 4 4 13	Oct. 31, 1888	By effluxion of time. Oct. 1, 1894 Oct. 13, 1898 April 26, 1902 Aug. 31, 1905

Note.—In 1888 the districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska and Saskatchewan, called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given local responsible government, and the old Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area approximately comprised within their limits was formed into the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan in 1905, and these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The remaining areas (the Yukon Territory and the provisional districts of Franklin, Keewatin and Mackenzie) are now administered by the Northwest Territories Branch of the Department of the Interior.

III.—THE CANADIAN HIGH COMMISSIONER AND THE PROVINCIAL AGENTS-GENERAL.

The policy of the early North American colonies, in maintaining in London accredited representatives for business and diplomatic purposes, was recognized in the eighteenth century as being a more satisfactory means of communication with the home government than that provided by occasional official visits or by correspondence. Edmund Burke, the noted British statesman, held the position of agent of the colony of New York for some years following 1771. Of the Canadian colonies, Nova Scotia was the first to adopt the plan, its legislature having appointed an agent in London in 1761. New Brunswick was similarly represented in 1786, Upper Canada as early as 1794, Lower Canada in 1812 and British Columbia in 1857. For some years after 1845 several of the colonies were represented in London by Crown Agents, appointed by the Secretary of State and paid by the colonies themselves. This system, however, was of but short duration.

With the federation of the provinces in 1867, a new political entity was brought into existence, which could not avail itself of the services of the provincial agents. To overcome the inadequacy of the methods of communication between the Canadian and Imperial governments (carried on at that time by correspondence between the Governor-General and the Secretary of State) the position of Canadian High Commissioner was created in 1879 (See R.S.C., 1906, c. 15). This official is the representative of the Canadian Government in London, appointed by the Canadian Government and clothed with specific powers as a medium through which constant and confidential communications pass between the Governments of Great Britain and of Canada.

Sir Alexander Galt was the first Canadian High Commissioner, holding office from November, 1879, until May, 1883, when he was succeeded by Sir Charles Tupper. Lord Strathcona and Mount Royal was appointed in 1896, Sir George Perley in 1914, and the present incumbent, Hon. P. C. Larkin, in February, 1922.

Agents-General.—The older provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia still adhere to the practice of former days and are represented in London by Agents-General. These officials are appointed by the legislatures of the provinces under general authority given in the British North America Act and act for their Governments in capacities very similar to that of the High Commissioner, with the exception, perhaps, that their duties have tended to become of a business rather than a diplomatic nature.